I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 452-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

T. R. Muña Barnes
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.
<u>B. J.F. Cruz</u>
R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
Chris M. Dueñas
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
Sam Mabini, Ph.D.
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
V. C. Pangelinan
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
M. Silva Taijeron
Aline A.Yamashita, Ph.D.

1

Relative to recognizing and commending the organizers and participants of the First Marianas History Conference, with the theme: "One Archipelago, Many Stories", for highlighting and enlightening our island communities in Micronesia and throughout the academic world of the many facets and rich, deep history of the *Chamorro* people; and to further congratulating the Guam Preservation Trust, the Northern Mariana Islands Humanities Council, Guampedia.com, and all the presenters and panelists, for their tremendous contributions of time and effort towards the perpetuation of the *Chamorro* culture, traditions, and language; and does give homage and respect to "I mañaina'ta" for protecting and nurturing our heritage and culture throughout the history of "I Taotao Pasifiku – I man Chamorro".

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I* 2 *MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:

3 WHEREAS, the First Marianas History Conference is slated for June 14 4 through June 17, 2012, at the Fiesta Resort and Spa in Garapan, Saipan -5 Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands; and

6 WHEREAS, the Conference theme: "One Archipelago, Many Stories" 7 highlights the deep and rich history of the Mariana Islands, and truly exemplifies the 8 many hardships and accomplishments the people of the Marianas have endured in 9 bridging the political divisions of the archipelago, which dates to the late 19th century; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, with a cadre of intellectual and historical perspectives, this Conference promises a wealth of information and topics featuring prominent speakers, 12 such as: Reverend Father Francis X. Hezel, SJ, "Setting the Agenda: Quilting the 13 Patches and Stitching them Together"; former Guam Delegate to the United States 14 15 Congress, the Honorable Robert A. Underwood, Ph.D. (currently, the President of the 16 University of Guam), "Leapfrogging Through History: Havi Mañaina-mu?"; Reverend Father Eric Forbes, OFM CAP, "Migration of Chamorro from Guam to 17 Saipan in the late 1800s"; and a featured performance by Moneka De Oro, Dako'ta 18 19 Alcantara-Camacho and Eva Aguon Cruz, performing: "Buried beneath Latte and Bombs: Finding Strength and Struggle in Islas Marianas"; as well as the participation 20 21 and contributions of forty-five (45) papers and six (6) posters from a diverse group of 22 student scholars, historians, archeologists, anthropologists, economists, and ethnic 23 studies scholars from Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Australia, Japan, New Zealand, the United States of America, Germany, Spain, and 24 25 England; and

WHEREAS, the Conference will showcase the oral/genealogy of Chamorro 1 history spanning the eras from ancient *Chamorro* history; the early colonial (17th to 2 18th centuries); the late colonial (19th to 20th centuries); World War II; and recent 3 4 (post-war) research; and

WHEREAS, Conference participants will examine the challenges and 5 6 opportunities confronting their work, and work to develop strategies to facilitate the 7 continuity of study of the Mariana Islands' history; and

8 WHEREAS, this important event serves as a catalyst to initiate dialogue 9 among key organizations from Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands that utilize public funding to support the study, interpretation, and 10 11 dissemination of the Mariana Islands' history; and

12 WHEREAS, collectable posters depicting the Mariana Islands' history, and 13 other publications, will be made available; and the Conference will culminate with 14 tours of selected historical sites on Saipan; and

15 WHEREAS, the Conference proceedings, papers, and posters will also be made available online as an e-publication from the Northern Mariana Islands 16 17 Humanities Council, the Guam Preservation Trust, and Guampedia.com; now 18 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na 19 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people 20 21 of Guam, recognize and commend the organizers and participants of the First 22 Marianas History Conference, with the theme: "One Archipelago, Many Stories", for 23 highlighting and enlightening our island communities in Micronesia and throughout 24 the academic world of the many facets and rich, deep history of the *Chamorro* people; 25 and does further congratulate the Guam Preservation Trust, the Northern Mariana 26 Islands Humanities Council, Guampedia.com, and all the presenters and panelists, for

3

their tremendous contributions of time and effort towards the perpetuation of the
 Chamorro culture, traditions, and language; and does give homage and respect to "I
 mañaina'ta" for protecting and nurturing our heritage and culture throughout the
 history of "I Taotao Pasifiku – I man Chamorro"; and be it further

5 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 6 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the First Marianas Conference Organizational 7 8 Committee; the Guam Preservation Trust; the Northern Mariana Islands Humanities 9 Council; Guampedia.com; the Honorable Robert A. Underwood, Ph.D.; Reverend 10 Father Francis X. Hezel, SJ; Reverend Father Eric Forbes, OFM CAP; Honora 11 Tenorio; Rosanna Barcinas; Scott Russell; Moneka De Oro; Dako'ta Alcantara-12 Camacho; Eva Aguon-Cruz; Ojeya Cruz Banks; John Peterson; Jillette Leon Guerrero; 13 Darlene Moore; Mariquita Davis; Rosalind Hunter Anderson; Rlene Santos Steffy; 14 Genevieve S. Cabrera; Mike Carson; Hsao Chun Hung; Judy Flores; Omaira Brunal-Perry; Rebecca Hofmann; Kathleen Broom Williams; Michael Bavacqua; Geoffrey 15 16 Mohlman; Edward Salo; Andrea Jaladoni; David Defant; Don Shuster; Ryu Arai; Dirk 17 Spennemann; Michael Clement; Shunsuke Nagashima; David Look; James Oelke; 18 Lino Olopai; Ken Koroiwa; Yumiko Imaizumi; Jesi Lujan Bennett; David Tugge; 19 Wakako Higuchi; Jessica Jordan; Barbara Dewein; Carlos Madrid; and Fred 20 Schumann; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 13TH DAY OF JUNE, 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

[man J. Muspilm

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

